Weetslade Relays

The 12th Weetslade Relay Race took place on Wednesday, 28th June 2023.

Please see here for a summary and extensive photo gallery of the night.

Full results can be found here.

This year’s chosen charity was Foodcycle, which feeds the hungry and gives company to the lonely in our communities; providing delicious meals and great conversation, and using food which would otherwise go to waste.  

The Weetslade Relays

Every June, Claremont Road Runners organise the Weetslade Relay.  It is based in Lockey Park, Wideopen, just north of Newcastle, and the Weetslade Country Park.  All entrants and supporters can expect to enjoy a good night’s racing.

The Weetslade Relay was the first relay event in the country where each club is required to select teams of three which must include at least one veteran and at least one lady.

It is a closed race and was limited in 2019 to 110 teams from UKA affiliated clubs and to a maximum of six teams from each club. Individuals can  be selected for teams on the day.  Minimum age 18.  The entry fee is  £15 a team.

See the map below to help you find Lockey Park (post code NE13 6LH):

View Map

The race consists of 3 legs each of 2.65 miles on a traffic free, multi terrain course. Each team of three must include a veteran and a lady.  The vet and the lady can be the same person.

The scenic, multi-terrain course receives favourable comments from runners. It includes a hill at halfway with a thirty metre climb. There are spectacular views over Tyneside for those who still notice such things after running up a hill.

The race is supported by Wideopen Football Club, who provide refreshments and use of their clubhouse for changing and administration; by Northumberland Wildlife Trust, who allow the use of Weetslade Country Park; and by North Tyneside Council Events Team.

There are cash prizes for fastest teams and individuals, and novelty prize bags which are given to randomly selected teams at the end of the evening.

A map of the course is shown below (click for interactive map):

Last Year (2022)

Many thanks to everybody who competed and officiated at the 2022 Weetslade Relays on a warm and sunny, if breezy, evening. We hope you all enjoyed it.

Congratulations to Morpeth Harriers who edged out Sunderland Harriers in a close finish to take the title. Jarrow and Hebburn completed the podium. Sunderland did claim the prizes in both fastest male categories, though – Stephen Jackson being fastest veteran (and fastest overall), with Nathan Reed the fastest senior. Catriona McDonald of Morpeth and Jarrow’s Alexis Dodds won the individual female categories.

Full results are here.

Team Prizes
1stMorpeth Harriers AAdam Pratt
Catriona McDonald
Joseph Anderson
Team Time
2ndSunderland Harriers AStephen Jackson
Jessica Fox
Nathan Reed
Team Time
3rdJarrow & Hebburn APeter Smallcombe
Alexis Dodd
Jack Brown
Team Time
Senior MaleNathan ReedSunderland Harriers A13:20
Senior FemaleCatriona McDonaldMorpeth Harriers A15:18
Veteran MaleStephen JacksonSunderland Harriers A13:33
Veteran FemaleAlexis DoddJarrow & Hebburn A15:45

Thanks for supporting our race, and our chosen charity this year, Tyneside Welcomes, an organisation that welcomes refugees to our area. 

2021 Results

The eleventh Weetslade Relay was scheduled for June 23rd 2021. The Government Road Map led to the hope of removing all corona virus restrictions on June 21st. However, as this was not possible, Claremont Road Runners decided to hold a virtual race as in 2020.

Once again, the results did not count in official records. A much smaller field than in the previous year saw Claremont Road Runners win from Stocksfield Striders in 2nd place. Both clubs dominated the individual podiums too, though Blyth RC won the Veteran Male category.

Click here for the 2021 Virtual Relay Results.

2020 Results

The 2020 Weetslade Relay was a virtual race due to Covid-19, the results did not count in official records. The glory went to Morpeth Harriers as winners on the night.

Click here for 2020 Virtual Relay results

2019 Results

The tenth anniversary Weetslade Relays took place on Wednesday, 19th June, 2019 at 7:30pm. We hope you all enjoyed a good evening’s racing.

This year, the Weetslade Relay had an official charity, the West End Food Bank.  £2 from every club entry was donated to help the charity, plus your generous donations of food supplies – thank you!

We were pleased to have used the same course as in 2018.  Feedback was positive about the new route – from runners and marshals alike. The route now has to cross a service road – thanks to Hatton Traffic Management who kindly offered their services and made sure that all users of the bridleway and the road were kept safe

Full results can be found here.

Team Prizes

1stMorpeth Harriers ‘A’Richard Johnson
Jane Hodgson
Sam Hancox
2ndTyne Bridge Harriers ‘A’Ryan Holt
Kathryn Stevenson
Michael Hedley

Fastest Individuals

Senior MaleSam HancoxMorpeth Harriers13:34
Senior FemaleHannah WoodLow Fell Running Club16:10
Veteran MaleMark AndersonSunderland Strollers13:58
Veteran FemaleJane HodgsonMorpeth Harriers15:27

Previously at Weetslade:

2018 Results

1. Morpeth Harriers
   Jordan Scott, Jane Hodgson, Lewis Timmins 41:46
2. Tyne Bridge Harriers
   Megan Parkin, Paul Turnbull, James Dunce 45:21

Fastest Man13:15Lewis Timmins (Morpeth)
Fastest Male Veteran15:47Brendam McMillan ( Jarrow & Hebburn)
Fastest Woman15:47Dani Smyth (Heaton)
Fastest Female Veteran15:05Jane Hodgson (Morpeth)

Full results can be found here.


1. Morpeth Harriers Tom Straughan, Emma Holt, Ian Harding 40:48
2. Gosforth Harriers Lewis Timmins, Helen Warburton, Darren McBain 42:37

Fastest Man Finn Brodie (Tyne BridgeVeteran Ian Harding (Morpeth)
Fastest Woman Helen Warburton (GosforthVeteran Jane Mooney (Morpeth)

Full results can be found here.


1. Morpeth Harriers Tom Straughan, Emma Holt, Chris Smith 39:53
2. Tyne Bridge Harriers Marc Fenwick, Alison Dargie, James Dunce 40:37

Fastest Man Sam Hancox (Morpeth)  and Abraham Tewelde (Saltwell)  Veteran Chris Smith (Morpeth)
Fastest Woman Emma Holt (MorpethVeteran Alison Dargie (Tyne Bridge)


1. Elswick Harriers Adam Hands, Justina Heslop, Paul Turner 41:09
2. Morpeth Harriers Sam Hancox, Vicki Gibbs, Chris Smith 41:35

Fastest Man Andy Burn (Jarrow and Hebburn) Veteran Paul Turner (Jarrow and Hebburn)
Fastest Woman Emma Holt (Morpeth Harriers) Veteran Justina Heslop (Elswick Harriers)


1. Morpeth Harriers Phil Walker, Emma Holt, Tom Straughan 40:45
2. Jarrow and Hebburn Brendan McMillan, Elaine Leslie, Andy Burn 40:58

Fastest Man Andy Burn (Jarrow and Hebburn) Veteran Steve McMannon (Sunderland Strollers)
Fastest Woman
Emma Holt (Morpeth Harriers) Veteran Alison Dargie (Tyne Bridge Harriers)


1. Jarrow and Hebburn. Brendan McMillan, Elaine Leslie, Andy Burn
2. Elswick Harriers. Lee Acer, Alison Dargie, Lee Bennett.
Fastest Man Mark Fenwick ( Tyne Bridge) Veteran Lee Bennett ( Elswick)
Fastest Woman and Veteran Alison Dargie ( Elswick )


1. Elswick Harriers Lee Bennett, Alison Dargie, Mark MacLeod
2. Tyne Bridge Harriers Keith Smith, Caroline Freeman, Tony Carter
Fastest Man Andrew Graham ( Gosforth ) Veteran Keith Smith ( Tyne Bridge)
Fastest Woman Laura Jardine ( Heaton ) Veteran Alison Dargie ( Elswick )

1. Elswick Harriers Paul Turner, Alison Dargie, Lee Bennett
2. Gosforth Harriers Helen Waddell, Kevin Thomas, Andrew Graham
Fastest Man Andrew Graham (Gosforth ) Veteran Les Smith ( Heaton )
Fastest Woman and Veteran Alison Dargle ( Elswick)

1. Claremont Road Runners Keith Smith, Mandy Herworth, Chris Gillis
2. Heaton Harriers Sarah Lemon, Mal Gibson, Craig Smith
Fastest Man Andrew Henderson ( Composite team ) Veteran Keith Smith ( Claremont)
Fastest woman Ellen Tullo ( Heaton ) Veteran Mandy Herworth ( Claremont)